2018 Regional GA Award Honorees Named

Versailles, Kentucky — January 22, 2018 — As Chairman of the General Aviation Awards Committee, I am very excited to announce the selection of 11 Regional Honorees for the 2018 General Aviation Awards. As you may know, this year the FAA reorganized offices and no longer has “Regions” per se.  Therefore, beginning this year, the “regional” GA Awards are based on regions defined by the time zones in which the FAA district offices are located.

Here are the 2018 Regional Honorees:

Region District Office Honoree
Central CE05 Kansas City, MO Christopher Hope
Central C19 Nashville, TN Catherine Cavagnaro
Central SW19 North TX Lloyd Timmons II
Eastern EA07 Baltimore, MD Helen Woods
Eastern EA07 Baltimore, MD C. William “Bill” Pancake
Eastern EA61 Boston, MA Paul Carroll
Mountain NM03 Denver, CO Ken Fukayama
Mountain WP07 Scottsdale, AZ Brent Crow
Pacific WP15 San Jose, CA Eric Alan Cook
Pacific WP19 Las Vegas, NV Dan Christman
Pacific WP19 Las Vegas, NV John “Dave” Monti

Let me put these Regional Honorees in perspective: Considering that we have only five time-zone-based regions covering the entire United States, being selected to represent one of these regions places these honorees in the top five of all the flight instructors, maintenance and avionics technicians, or FAASTeam representatives nationwide. Being selected by the FAA to represent your region is a HUGE step toward the goal of being named the National Honoree.

Congratulations to our Regional Honorees and good luck in the 2018 National competition.  National Honorees are scheduled to be chosen by January 30,.

Arlynn McMahon, Chairman
General Aviation Awards Committee
2009 National Flight Instructor of the Year

How You Can Support Excellence In Aviation

Please consider sponsoring or donating gifts to the General Aviation Awards program. Sponsorship funds pay for the out-of-pocket expenses of the program (e.g., award winner’s travel and lodging, catering, etc).  Gifts in the form of merchandise or checks are given to the individual national award winners at EAA AirVenture in Oshkosh. To become a sponsor or gift donor, please click on one of the following links: