General Aviation Awards LLC Announced

The General Aviation Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the group has recently formed General Aviation Awards LLC.  The seven member board of directors is made up volunteers who have agreed to take on the work of the awards program.  Industry groups and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) partner each year to recognize outstanding professionals in the fields of Flight Instruction (CFI), Aviation Maintenance (AMT), Avionics Technology (AVN), and representatives in the FAA Safety Team (FAASTeam) program.

JoAnn Hill, president of Master Instructors LLC (MI LLC), has agreed to remain as national chairman for another term.  John Teipen, the 2005 National CFI of the Year as well as the 2008 National FAASTeam Representative of the Year will serve as vice-chairman.  2007 National CFI of the Year Mike Gaffney will serve as secretary while 2007 National AMT of the Year Paul New has assumed the treasurer’s duties.  Sandy Hill of MI LLC will serve on the board and chair the Communications/Marketing Committee.   Advocates for Aviation Safety Foundation (AFASF) executive director Paul Burger has agreed to continue chairing the Fund Raising Committee.  Kate Fraser, manager of operations for General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA), will join the Fund Raising Committee.  A seventh board seat is yet to be filled.  Kevin Clover, AFS 850, will serve as the FAA liaison to the Board.

Numerous updates and additions are being made to the Awards program’s official website,  The Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) has once again agreed to host the national awards during AirVenture 2012.  Judging for the 2012 national winners is being done by past national award winners and is currently under way.  The four national winners will be announced by March 1st.  The finalists for the national award have been vetted through local Flight Standards District Offices (FSDOs) and the FAA’s regional offices.  Industry sponsors provide funding to send the national winners to AirVenture each year and industry donors provide checks and gifts to the four national winners.

Additional information about the General Aviation Awards program as well as nomination / application forms and sponsoring opportunities is available on the program’s website.

Support and sponsorship for the General Aviation Awards program is provided by Women in Aviation International (WAI), the Society of Aviation and Flight Educators (SAFE), the Professional Aviation Maintenance Ass’n (PAMA), the National Business Aviation Ass’n (NBAA), the National Ass’n of State Aviation Officials (NASAO), the National Air Transportation Ass’n (NATA), the Ninety-Nines International (The 99s), the General Aviation Manufacturers Ass’n (GAMA), the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), the Experimental Aircraft Ass’n (EAA), the Aircraft Maintenance Technology Society (AMT Society), the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Ass’n (AOPA), and the Aeronautical Repair Station Ass’n (ARSA).

Additional support is being provided by Advocates for Aviation Safety Foundation (AFASF), Aeronautical Proficiency Training LLC (AVTrain), Master Instructors LLC (MI LLC), National Aviation Safety Foundation (NASF), Rich Stowell Consulting (, Flight School Association of North America (FSANA), Aviation Training Consultants (ATC), and Glenna Blackwell’s photography.

Industry donors include Garmin, Jeppesen, King Schools, Rod Machado, Belvoir Media Group, Bose, ASA, Duncan Aviation, Gleim Publications, Gulfstream Aerospace, Cessna, and Universal Avionics.